The Irish Centre, Digbeth. Contact Sheets #3.

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 20.57.24Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 20.57.34


Although this was my third shoot within the Irish Centre, it was only my second proper visit to the Tuesday Club. Like before, I was heavily welcomed and made to feel very comfortable. I moved around different tables and spoke to many different people, waiting for a ‘bite’ from someone who I thought was interesting, and would be willing to let me make a portrait of them. This technique seemed to work, as the Irish are very forward and conversational, so it was fairly easy to find models.

I think the most successful portraits from this series are the ones of Una looking directly at camera, but with her head slightly turned and also he photographs of Michael and Kitty. Una’s gaze is mesmerising and holds the viewers attention well. The colour of her eyes is fantastic, and the sharp focus really shows this off. Using a shallow depth of field here was important for me, as I wanted to drop the background very much out of focus so it becomes unrecognisable, but is fairly clear where it has been taken in relation to the surrounding images that come before and after.

Leave a Reply

