The Shamrock // Irish Pub, Cheltenham. Contact Sheets #1.

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 20.58.38Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 20.58.31Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 20.58.23Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 20.58.14Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 20.57.46


It was only really by chance that I came across this Irish pub in Cheltenham. Whilst visiting my family, I asked in another pub if they knew of any Irish people that drank in there, and the bar tender recommended that I try going to the Shamrock located in the lower end of town. I luckily had my 35mm camera with me, so went along and met the owner and his wife. They were both willing to let me document the pub itself, and also to make portraits of them. I decided to focus on John during this shoot however, as I thought I would return to photograph his wife.

I focussed on some of the details within the pub, as well as making the portraits. I am very pleased with how they turned out, even though there are some small technical errors with some of the images, like a slight softness in the focus in the photograph of John’s Claddagh ring. This was because I did not have a flash gun with me and I was using 200 ISO film, resulting in a fairly slow shutter speed. Despite this, I think the imagery is strong adds a lot to the overall body of work for this project.

Leave a Reply

